Defence HQ Unveils Names of Slain Military Personnel in Delta State Attack


The Nigerian Defence Headquarters has released the names of 17 valiant military personnel who tragically lost their lives in an attack in Delta State.

The incident occurred in Okuama, a community within the Ughelli South Local Government Area, following a peace mission undertaken by the troops.

The fallen heroes, including the Commanding Officer of the 181 Amphibious Battalion, two majors, one captain, and 12 other personnel, were honored by the Nigerian Army with a heartfelt message, “REST IN PEACE OUR FALLEN HEROES,” shared on its official Twitter platform alongside a poignant photo collage.

Among those remembered for their bravery and sacrifice are Lt Col AH Ali, the Commanding Officer of the 181 Amphibious Battalion, Nigerian Army; Maj SD Shafa; Maj DE Obi; and Capt U Zakari.

The Defence Headquarters also paid tribute to the other gallant soldiers who made the ultimate sacrifice:

  • SSgt Yahaya Saidu
  • Cpl Yahaya Danbaba
  • Col Kabiru Bashir
  • LCol Bulus Haruna
  • Lal Sole Opeyemi
  • LCpl Bello Anas
  • LCpl Hamman Peter
  • LCpl Ibrahim Abdullahi
  • Pte Alhaji Isah
  • Pte Clement Francis
  • Pte Abubakar Ali
  • Pte Ibrahim Adamu
  • Pte Adamu Ibrahim

The Nigerian Defence Headquarters, along with the entire nation, extends its deepest condolences to the families, friends, and colleagues of the fallen heroes. May their souls rest in peace, and may their legacy continue to inspire future generations of Nigerian soldiers to uphold the values of courage, honor, and sacrifice in service to the nation.

WhatsApp Image 2023 02 21 at 11.32.38 PM


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here